The Years Best Science Fiction 33rd an. collection

I can hardly believe it’s that time of year again already; The thirty-third annual collection of The Years best Science fiction is slated to be released this July. You can pre-order your copy at Amazon. (That’s not even an affiliate link)

I like anthologies and collections. I’ve been buying this one in particular every year, for over twenty years. It’s consistently been one of my favorite collections of short stories and novellas. Among the contributing authors, both rising and accomplished, included in this year’s collection are the works of: Anne Leckie, James S.A. Corey 1, Nancy Kress, and many more.

The Years Best Science Fiction is published by St Martins Griffin and edited by Gardner Dozois, who consistently selects the most interesting works for inclusion in this annual collection. The stories collected in this anthology will transport the reader from localized anomalies to distant galaxies and through every dimension of space/time in between.

It’s no coincidence that Gardner Dozois was formerly the editor of Asimov’s magazine (1984–2004) which itself collects short stories and novellas by some of the most interesting writers of speculative fiction today. Some are up-and-coming authors while others are well established. In either case the work collected in Asimov’s is a welcome distraction on your long public transport commute or perhaps in your doctor’s waiting room.


1. James S. A. Corey is the pen name used by collaborators Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck, who’s works include the Expanse series.